Review: Benton Snail Bee High Content Steam Cream

bprod1

Product Name: Benton Snail Bee High Content Steam Cream; 50g; 13USD on Memebox

Product Ingredients (bolded ingredients have a 3 or greater acneic/irritant/safety rating on CosDNA):

Snail Secretion Filtrate, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Niacinamide, Stearic Acid, Behenyl Alcohol, Phytosqualene, Human Ogliopeptide-1, Bee Venom, Arbutin, Adenosine, Helianthus Annus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Argania Spinosa Kernal Oil, Glyceryl Stearate, Arginine, Carbomer, Urea, Tocopher Leaf Extract, Salix Alba (Willow Bark) Extract, Ulmus Campestris (Elm) Extract, Pentylene Glycol, Zanthoxylum Piperitum Fruit Extract, Pilsatilla Koreana Extract, Usnea Barbata (Lichen) Extract

Review: As I mentioned in my Nature Republic Fresh Steam Cream review, this Benton one is the first steam cream I’ve ever used. I used it much longer than I have the Nature Republic’s version, but much less frequently and so, I haven’t had enough thoughts on it to write a review. But now I have, and here we are 🙂

To begin with, steam cream refers to the technology used to make the cream, and that’s really it. Using steam apparently fuses the ingredients together better, which makes for a product with a higher efficacy. I haven’t seen any real difference in how the ingredients work for me in a steam cream vs. a regular cream, but y’know, the beauty industry is all about the gimmicks.

So this Benton steam cream is part of their Snail Bee line, the most famous product being the Snail bee High Content Essence, which was quite lovely, but didn’t have amazing results for me. This steam cream is supposed to be the last product to use in the line, so it’s intended to be a kind of moisturizing occlusive.

bswatch1

The white-ness totally blends out. I’m just an idiot who forgot to take a pic of that part.

It’s a thick, white cream that is kind of heavy, but melts down to a matte finish. It has no discernible scent to it, and a little bit goes a long way. It is incredibly moisturizing and for me, works beautifully to calm down redness and soothe my dry patches. Despite its heaviness, I use it in my morning routine (because my evening routine is just too packed for another moisturizer) and I have found that it lets my makeup apply much more smoothly.

Usually because of my dehydrated skin, my forehead will start to look dry and patchy under my makeup after around 4-5 hours, but if I layer this steam cream underneath, I can get a whole day of non-patchiness. Which is a HUGE deal.

In terms of long-term results, it’s hard for me to measure because as I said earlier, I don’t use it very frequently at all. This is because it has the tendency to break me out (it starts off with one or two…and then HOLY MOLY WHAT IS MY FACE). Looking at the ingredients, I really don’t know what it is causing me to break out. Initially, I thought it was because of all the olivates, since olive oil breaks me out like no other. But my nighttime moisturizer (Guerrison 9 Complex Cream) also has olivates in it but I have yet to break out after 3 weeks of use. So yea, still a mystery.

Nonetheless, I have seen light red spots disappear (which rarely happens for me) when I use the cream a few days in a row, and I’m positive that if I used it everyday, I would be seeing even better results. Unfortunately, I can’t risk breaking out even more, because that’ll just create more red spots and trap me in the infinite loop of bad skin AHHH.

So yes. This is one of my most heartbreaking products to review, just because I know it works, but at the same time, I know it doesn’t work for me.  Like a thorny rose 😦 Benton Thorny Rose Steam Cream: Skin Fixer and Destroyer. Ugh. Sad day, y’all. Sad day.

How I Like To Use It: AM: After my essences, before sunscreen. But lately, it’s become my new body lotion (silver linings!)

Rating: In another life, maybe we could have been … 😥

RemoveFromCart

xx Girl With An Overloaded Cart

Leave a comment